Underage Drinking Laws For Colorado
Not all state laws are the same for underage drinking, they vary from state to state. For Colorado, there are several laws that deal with this issue. No one under the age of 21 is allowed to either consume or possess alcohol without the permission of a parent or guardian. If a parent or guardian does allow for it, it must be kept on private property and under supervision.
Underage Drinking and Driving
Underage Drinking and Driving (UDD) is the charge that is given to any driver under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) found between .02 and .05. If the BAC is found to be higher than .05, DUI/DWAI charges can be given.
The first UDD conviction can result in the revocation of a drivers license for up to 3 months. This is a class A driving infraction, which can result in a $100 fine as well as community service. Being convicted of a second UDD can result in criminal charges and the revocation of a drivers license for up to 6 months. Greater fines and community service should also be expected. If convicted of a third or more UDDs, a drivers license can be revoked for up to a year, and also have much steeper fines and community service penalties associated with them. If you or a loved one has been convicted of a UDD, it is recommended that an experienced DUI Attorney is found.
Minor In Possession
When it comes to underage drinking, a minor in Possession (MIP) is the most common charge that is given. Anyone under the age of 21 found in possession, or suspected of consuming alcohol can be charged with an MIP. Again, the only time a minor is allowed to consume alcohol or be in possession of it, is with the consent and supervision by either a guardian or parent.
If found guilty of an MIP, the first offense brings a $250 fine, and 24 hours of community service. If the teen is able to drive, a license revocation for 3 months can be given if the minor fails to follow the court orders. If found guilty of a second MIP, this brings a $500 fine, 24 hours of community service, alcohol classes must be attended, and the revocation of a driving license for up to 6 months. For the third offense or more, there can be 3-12 months of imprisonment and/or up $1000 fine. Alcohol classes are also mandatory, and a drivers license will be revoked for up to 1 year. If you live in Colorado, and know of someone convicted of an MIP, it is advised to seek out a Boulder Lawyer to represent you.
The biggest mistake that can be made for anyone under the age of 21 is to attempt to use, or own, a fake ID. It’s frequently used, and may even be thought to be harmless by many. But owning and using a fake ID can result in a Class 5 felony. The reason for this is that fake IDs are intended to appear as legitimate government document. Penalties for a false identification can result in up to 4 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. It can also result in the revoking of a drivers license. It is important to avoid this at all cost, as this will stay on a persons record and can severely hinder the ability to acquire certain jobs, being accepted into schools, and other less desirable outcomes.
Underage drinking is a serious crime, and it would behoove any person under age to avoid drinking until they’ve reached 21. The crimes that a person can be convicted of are bad enough. But the actions taken by the underaged and inebriated are often also not the most sound. So it’s best if it is avoided all together. If you or a loved one has been charged in Colorado with a DUI, MIP, or worse yet, false identification charge, then it is strongly recommended you seek a proper Boulder Colorado Defense Attorney.