Talk to an Attorney NOW (303) 870-4900

DUI Frequently Asked Questions

DUI Frequently Asked Questions

By on May 14, 2020 in Blog, Boulder Colorado Law Advice Blogs, DUI Blogs | 0 comments

Gavel on a blue table with a black background

Getting a DUI is stressful but knowing what you’re getting into can help the situation. It’s a good thing if you have no idea what to do because you’ve never gotten a DUI before. We’re here to help inform you of different options, scenarios, and ensure you have the best chances in your DUI defense as possible. Keep reading for some commonly asked questions about DUIs.

Can You Refuse a Roadside Breathalyzer Test?

Taking a roadside breathalyzer test is your least safe option if the officer decides to administer a sobriety test. It’s easy for the results to be altered and it can also be less accurate. You may not realize it but you have the option to refuse to take a roadside breathalyzer test in favor of one back at the police station. An officer cannot force you to take the test right there and then.

What’s Sobriety Test Options Are There?

If alcohol is suspected, you’ll have options for which test to take. You can take a breath test either on the roadside or back at the police station. This will show your blood alcohol content and tell them whether you’re in a safe range. Alternatively, whether alcohol or drugs are suspected, you can also take a blood test, which may be more accurate. If the officer suspects drugs, you will have to take a blood test, since breath tests cannot show the presence of drugs.

Can You Get a DUI for Taking Prescription Medicine?

The short answer – yes. You can get a DUI for driving under the influence of anything that impairs your judgement and slows reaction time. This means not just drug and alcohol use can result in a DUI. Many prescription medications carry a warning on their label stating that you shouldn’t operate heavy machinery after taking a dose. While your doctor should also inform you of any side effects and things to consider while taking a medication, it’s always a good idea to read the label before taking a new medication you’re not familiar with.

How Much Will a DUI Cost Me?

The answer to this is more complicated than you might expect. In Colorado, a first conviction for a DUI will technically cost you $600, though that is just the fine you’ll be charged. In addition to that charge, you could be charged varying bail bond costs, potential legal fees, alcohol education classes, and an increase in insurance rates – not to mention a driver’s license fee once your license is reinstated. In total, this can end up costing as much as $10,000 or more over time if you are convicted and a DUI goes on your record.

Could I Get Jail Time for a DUI?

Taking a roadside breathalyzer test is your least safe option if the officer decides to administer a sobriety test. It’s easy for the results to be altered and it can also be less accurate. You may not realize it but you have the option to refuse to take a roadside breathalyzer test in favor of one back at the police station. An officer cannot force you to take the test right there and then.

Will You Lose Your License After a First Offense DUI?

Whether or not you end up being convicted, you must request a DMV hearing in writing within seven days of your DUI arrest to prevent your license from being suspended. Otherwise, even if you are found not guilty, you will end up losing your license for up to nine months. The arresting officer will issue you a permit at the time of arrest, which expires in a week, after which your driver’s license will have to be reinstated before it is legal for you to drive again.

How Long Will a DUI Stay on My Record?

The state of Colorado does not have a lookback period or washout period after which a DUI conviction is disregarded. Simply put, in Colorado, any DUI at any time in your life is still a DUI. However, if you had a DUI ten years prior, for example, a judge may be more lenient, though there is no legal standard for this.

Is it Worth it to Hire a DUI Attorney?

Yes. Hiring an experienced DUI lawyer can significantly help your defense and save you money and hardship in the long run. If you’re in need of a Boulder lawyer with extensive experience in DUI cases, give Phil Clark a call for a free consultation as soon as you make bail. Get a head start on your DUI defense and lower your chances of negative ramifications from your arrest.

For more information about your DUI or DWAI, Contact the Boulder DUI Attorney Phil Clark  today for a FREE Initial Consultation (303) 444-4251.

We’re Here to Help You
Call Us Now ☎ 303-444-4251