Talk to an Attorney NOW (303) 870-4900

Multiple DUI Convictions – The Consequences  & What They Mean for You – Infographic

Multiple DUI Convictions – The Consequences & What They Mean for You – Infographic

By on Jul 17, 2018 in Blog, DUI Blogs |

What is a DUI?

When an individual is arrested for drunk driving – or driving under the influence – they are charged with what is known as a DUI.

Being charged with a DUI means that drugs, alcohol or a combination of both to the point that it substantially affects the driver and they are considered unsafe to drive a vehicle. A DUI requires a blood alcohol concentration or breath alcohol of .08% or more. A DUI has consequences, and subsequent DUIs have increasingly severe consequences. If you find yourself in the situation of a DUI conviction it is important to understand what these consequences are so that you can protect yourself.

 

dui-consequence-infographic

 

DUI Penalties

 

First DUI Offense

  • Jail: Minimum 5 days – Maximum 1 year
  • Fine: Minimum $600 – Maximum $1000
  • Community Service: Minimum 48 hours – Maximum 96 hours
  • Probation: Minimum none – Maximum 2 years

If this is your first DUI offense you probably have a lot of questions – the biggest being: will you spend time in jail? If this is your first conviction then the answer is, it depends. You may be asked to serve a jail sentence if either your blood test result or your BAC result was .20 or higher.  Otherwise, there is a minimum mandatory jail time for a second conviction and a third conviction. Even if this is your first offense a DUI is a general misdemeanor and will remain on your record for life in the state of Colorado.

 

Second DUI Offence

  • Jail: Minimum 10 Days – Maximum 1 year
  • Suspended Jail: 1 Year
  • Fine: Minimum $600 – Maximum $1500
  • Community Service: Minimum 48 hours – Maximum 120 hours
  • Probation: Minimum 2 years – Maximum 4 years

The state of Colorado takes DUI offences very seriously, and if you have a second DUI offence the penalties are much harsher. In Colorado DUIs remain on your driving record forever, so even if your first DUI was 20 years ago and your second offence was today you would be considered a repeat offender.

 

Third DUI Offence

  • Jail: Minimum – 60 days – Maximum 1 year
  • Suspended Sentence: 1 year
  • Fine: Minimum – $600/Maximum – $1500
  • Community Service: Minimum 48 hours – Maximum 120 hours
  • Probation: Minimum 2 years – Maximum 4 years
  • License Revocation: Minimum No revocation – Maximum 2 years

A third DUI offense is still considered a misdemeanor, but it is taken much more seriously in the eyes of Colorado County Courts as it is the most serious alcohol-related crime dealt with in county-level courts. The minimum jail sentence for a 3rd DUI is a 60-day consecutive sentence. This means that there is no shortening the first 60 days of any jail sentence imposed. Work release is sometimes a possibility. However, In-Home Detention is not an option. If you’re convicted of a third DUI, you WILL do jail time.

Fourth DUI Offence

When a DUI Becomes a Felony

If you are facing a 4th DUI offense, in Colorado this is now moved up from being a misdemeanor crime to a felony. This means that a fourth DUI conviction is punishable by up to six years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines. If you are facing a 4th DUI conviction then you need an experienced attorney like Phil Clark in your corner.

At The Clark Law Firm, we understand that the law can be a tricky course to navigate. If you need help finding your way and have been charged or convicted of a DUI in Boulder Colorado, or are concerned with Drug Offenses, in need of Felony Defense or Misdemeanor Defense, please be sure to contact us immediately. We will hit the ground running to make sure you have the best Boulder Attorney and legal coverage possible!

We’re Here to Help You
Call Us Now ☎ 303-444-4251